Rising Star Awards Ceremony 2009

RS 2009

On January 29th 2009, Margaret Hayes, President of The Fashion Group International opened the 12th Annual Rising Star Awards, sponsored by Bebe and InStyle, at the swank Rainbow Room.  High up in the clouds, eight outstanding individuals made their way through a filled to capacity ballroom to accept their award for creativity, innovation, and business accomplishments in eight business categories.


Keynote speaker Tory Burch, a 2005 Rising Star Award Winner, recounted the challenges of launching her own company in 2004, and the significance of having a complete vision for your brand. The Tory Burch lifestyle brand of affordable Classic American Sportswear with a twist has a devoted clientele that spans the globe.


The two-phase voting process consists of 100 FGI members who judge the 90-100 Rising Star Award nominees using a “numerical scale” to select the final winners. Launched in 1997, the awards reinforce FGI’s corporate mission to promote and advance emerging talent in fashion and fashion related industries.


The 2009 Winners and Nominees in the eight award categories*:

Accessories Presenter: ANN WATSON
Natalia Barbieri & Jennifer Portman - Bionda Castana
Eileen Shields - Eileen Shields, Inc.
Stephanie Owen - Elizabeth Cole Jewelry
Claudia, Laura, Alejandra Laviada - Pantera
Satu & Celeste Greenberg - Tuleste Market, LLC
Claudia, Laura, Alejandra Laviada- Pantera

Beauty/Fragrance Corporate Presenter: AMY SYNOTT
Marypierre Julien - Givaudan Fragrances
Juliette Karagueuzoglou - International Flavors & Fragrances
Katie Lucas - Avon Products, Inc.
Julie Birns - Prescriptives, Estée Lauder Companies
Winner: Julie Birns-Prescriptives, Estee Lauder Companies

Beauty/Fragrance Entrepreneur Presenter: JANE LAUDER
Cathy Gins - Aromawear LLC
Jessica Dunne - Ellie D Parfume
Tom Wilscam - Hommage
Janet League - Katzin - Sphatika International, LLC
Gerd Schwarzkopf - PHCP, Incorporated, Professional Hair Care Products/Mensgroom
Winner: Cathy Gins- Aromawear LLC

Home/Interior Design Presenter: CHRIS MADDEN
Claudia Kalis - CK Designs
Jaimie Chew - J. Chew Porcelain
Wayne Ludlum – Vestalife
Winner: Wayne Ludlum- Vestalife

Fine Jewelry Presenter: PAUL MORELLI
Ariane Zurcher - Ariane Zurcher Jewelry
Danielle & Jodie Snyder - Dannijo
Darcy Miro - Darcy Miro Metals Shop
Ivanka Trump - Ivanka Trump
Stephanie Albertson - Stephanie Albertson Jewelry LLC
Winner: Ariane Zurcher- Ariane Zurcher Jewelry

Men's Apparel Presenter: ALEX BADIA
Carlos Campos - Carlos Campos
Anthony Keegan - Commonwealth Utilities
Michael Leen, Matteo Gottardi and Hamid Johannes Mahmood - Operations
Prince Williams 3rd - Prince Williams Designs
Winners (Tied for Award): Carlos Campos- Carlos Campos, Anthony Keegan- Commonwealth Utilities


Alexis Maybank & Alexandra Wilkis Wilson - Gilt Groupe
Hicham Benmira & Brian Cousins - Hollander & Lexer
Alexandra Adame & Nikki Fontanella - The Dressing Room Boutique & Bar
Winner: Alexandra Adame & Nikki Fontanella- The Dressing Room Boutique & Bar

Women's RTW Presenter: PHILLIP LIM

Annebet Duvall & Stephanie Doucette - Doucette Duvall
Gustavo Cadile - Gustavo Cadile
Ina Soltani - Ina Soltani
Christian Cota - Christian Cota, Inc.
Sue Stemp - Sue Stemp
Michalyn Andrews - Trasteverine
Yoon Chang & Je-Won Hwang - Whiste & Flute                               
Winner: Christian Cota- Christian Cota, Inc.                                    

*Awards generously donated by MOVADO